Unwanted baggage: what’s really in a woman’s handbag?

I talk a lot on this blog about how I love to hoard stuff, and how Operation Threadbare is helping me realise I don’t need to cart so much stuff through life with me. However, what I didn’t realise was how much baggage I cart around with me on a daily basis … in my handbag.

Tonight I was looking for something that I thought must be in my handbag. As it turned out, it wasn’t. But looking for it did force me to empty the contents of said handbag onto the floor, to the shocked gasps of my husband and my father-in-law.

I was ashamed and surprised at what I found in there:

20120925-222742.jpg

I was ashamed at the amount of rubbish that was in there. Old till receipts, scribbled notes from months ago. I was ashamed at how much stuff I was carting around on my shoulder. No wonder I’ve been complaining of backache lately.

I also found some surprises in there. Not sure why I’m carrying screws round. The pliers I had already confessed to losing at the beginning of September, yet it turns out they had been hiding at the bottom of my handbag for almost a month, undetected. I found some moneybags full of pound coins in there too.

You’ll be pleased to hear I’ve done a handbag audit now, and not as much stuff went back in as came out. But it’s still fairly weighty?

Why do we carry so much baggage?

3 thoughts on “Unwanted baggage: what’s really in a woman’s handbag?

  1. Oh you found the pliers :) :)
    My bag is full of rubbish. When I swap from one bag to another I leave the rubbish in the original bag and end up carrying older rubbish about. Terrible.

    • Yes, and how long had I spent rummaging in said handbag for the pliers and asking everybody had they seen them …?! Oops. Proof there was too much stuff in there.

  2. Pingback: What’s Really Inside A Woman’s Purse?

Leave a Reply

